Bodowyr Dolmen – Diptych

Mixed media on two reclaimed wooden panels – each about 31 x 26cm x 2cm

Bodowyr burial chamber is a neolithic ‘monument’ located in the middle of a field on the island of Anglesey. I visited this dolmen earlier in the year and took hundreds of photos of it. This is more of a homage to the place, a remembrance and I really enjoyed making these twin pieces. One on the left has a transferred /collaged image of the building and the other is a ‘ghost’. Recently, I have been prone to using Celtic symbolism and motifs in my work, however that is obviously incorrect when looking into the history of these ancient ‘structures’ – people of that age would have more likely used spirals or cup marks to decorate the stone.

3 thoughts on “Bodowyr Dolmen – Diptych

    1. Hey you! Of course, I am now only seeing the Oros man every time I look at the original pieces … duh. But not to worry, I am more than pleased you have commented and I think I will have a little celebration this weekend to mark the occasion.

Leave a comment