Clay Dolmen

I used a photo of Carreg Samson, which is a +- 5000 year old dolmen located in Pembrokeshire, Wales, as inspiration for this piece.

No, I haven’t been to see this dolmen in person yet but it’s on my list. I wanted to try something different in the interpretation – so out from hiding came the Fimo clay …

Then after more fiddling, I played around with watercolours on the surface

Today,I decided to work more colour into it and went a bit crazy, in the process knocking all my soft pastels all over the floor dammit.

Eventually I decided to tone it all down a tad, layering some white and purple acrylic all over the surface, then spraying with iso-alcohol and water, manipulating the surface with a kitchen towel. I then sprayed it all with Winsor & Newton varnish sealant … so it kinda sparklies!

Dumbass that I am, I didn’t take enough photos of the finished thing before I put it in the frame and of course, there is a fair bit of reflection at the moment – hence taking photos from the side but you get the general idea. I kinda love this thing now.

‘Clay Dolmen’ – mixed media and Fimo clay on paper – 30x30cm

One thought on “Clay Dolmen

Leave a comment